Josephine Lagoun, Part-Time University Librarian and Consultant, Infochandise Consultancy Ltd.

Josephine LaogunHow did you first get into the information and library profession?  I got into the information and library profession in 1991 because my dad insisted the profession is a very good one because he had a librarian friend who became the Director-General of CBAAC (Centre for Black African Arts and Civilization) CBAAC was established to host the 2nd World Black & African Festival of Arts and Culture (FESTAC ‘77) in 1977.

I started my career in 1994 at the Obafemi Awolowo University library, Nigeria and have worked since then at University Libraries.

What qualifications did you take?  I have a Masters degree in Library, Archival and Information Studies (MLS) in 1993. Previous to this, I have a B.A.Ed. degree in English. I am currently a PhD student of Information Management at the Loughborough University and I am in my second year. I am also trained as a Business Analyst and I am a certified Scrum Master. Note from Editor – I didn’t know what a Scrum Master was either – this link might help!

What is your current job title? I am a part-time Learning & Teaching Librarian and working the rest of the time in Consultancy and Project Management. I have a consultancy outfit ‘Infochandise Consultancy Ltd’ . I organise training and advocate change management in libraries with a special focus on Africa to bridge the existing gaps in information literacy and soft skills.

What does your job involve? My main job involves answering helpdesk queries via chats, emails and telephone, training students in information literacy skills and writing/maintaining some pages on the library website. I also support Module teams in embedding the Library and Information Literacy activities in Module webpages.

My consultancy role includes communicating with offshore library management to arrange bespoke trainings for their staff members. I am also working to get contract jobs in Business Analysis especially in the domain of education as I intend to migrate fully into Business Analysis role for Higher Education.

Can you describe a ‘typical’ day? I do not have a typical day. I work different hours as a Part time L & T librarian and one day is different from another. This keeps me on my toes all the time. In my consultancy role, I do various tasks to establish my outfit which is still at teething stage.

What skills do you think are most important for today’s information and library professional? Research and networking skills are vital for any information professional. An Information and Library professional should keep updated and keep abreast of information and knowledge and changes. Technology and concepts change daily. The traditional role of information professionals evolve constantly. We are no longer keepers, we generate and re-format information. We participate in information architecture. We enhance the user experience and create a memorable ambience for them while accessing the information.

What advice would you give to anyone considering a career in Information Management? Be ready to be proactive, take charge of your learning and development. Things move so fast in this world you’ll be outdated as soon as you start if you are stagnant.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

